The Employment Gap

IMG_8639

Well folks, it is time for me to be brave and make an admission to you all. I only have 24 days left at my current station. My soon-to-be husband and I are planning to take some extended leave to travel and volunteer. We are staying open minded about what life holds for us next; geographically and occupation wise.

I want to thank you all for reading my Medic15 blog (24,000 views to date!), as well as the thoughtful comments and dialogue. Like all medicine, EMS is ever evolving and as I step away from this site I’m sure some of it will become irrelevant/dated/disproven/revamped/overhauled (and may already have been). Please continue to do your own research and feel free to comment with any updates! I will still be checking in (as long as we have internet access).

One of the most important lessons I learned from paramedicine is to seize the moment. Life goes by quicker than we may anticipate. Saving the fun stuff for retirement is not always a guaranteed investment! Breaking from formal EMS is bittersweet but I look forward to exploring some of my other interests in, what I would define as, whole-health fields (sustainable building, organic farming, ecotourism, travel therapy, and- in the words’ of a friend- “food as medicine”). I am still passionate about being a paramedic, but I happen to have a lot of those- passions. They warrant some exploring while we are fit and able. Someone once said, “Life is about using the whole box of crayons.”

If you’d like to follow me on my new adventures you can check them out here >>> www.honeywwoofers.wordpress.com

Take care of each other out there.

Over and out,

Medic15

11390148_643437455790906_764744967836679843_n

Why an extended break can be a good career move: http://www.independent.co.uk/money/spend-save/why-an-extended-break-can-be-a-good-career-move-2039948.html

Leave a Reply

